Maioush

Dance like no one is watching, Blog like no one is reading

Daring Adventure…

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. Security does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than exposure.” ~ Helen Keller

I love this quote, but I could also summarize it in three words:  “Take a risk!”  To me Helen is telling us that we are not truly living unless we step into the unknown and face the unimaginable.  It’s so true.  Reminds me of a conversation I had with my friend the other day:

R: “so how is your new job?”

Me:  “I’m doing well  el 7amdolla, I still have a lot to learn, but they like me so far.”

R: “sounds great! Good for you, Mai. Did you plan all of this as you dreamed of leaving the medical field and jump in to this, although you never worked it before?”

Me: “No. Planning sucks.  I prefer to wander around and amuse myself as I go.  All kinds of fun stuff just pops up that way.  ”

R : “Me, too.  ”

Although I DO plan some things in my life, I have no guarantees.  Everything I have accomplished in the last 2+ years has been the result of taking risks.  Had I not stepped out and followed my dream, I would have missed out on so much – this blog, new friends …   I have been living a daring adventure.  Have you?

Filed under: Thoughts

9 Responses

  1. Maher says:

    Oh dear, For me its all about planning. if i dont prepare or plan for something before time i will for sure fail in it. I hate adventures, especially life adventures..because if you simply fail, you are going down.

    Ps : New Elissa Album is in town , check it out, there is a couple of good songs 🙂

  2. Maioush says:

    so you are a planner ha!!
    and Ellissa’s album, heard it, download it, burned it, MEMORIZED IT 😀 .. i loved like 3 or 4 sooooo much, especially ta3et “3ala 7obbak” and “betmoon”
    in fact I’m listening to it right now 😀

  3. KL says:

    How can you do it, i can’t take risks, if i can’t see where the next step will be, there is noway i can do it!!

  4. Batoul says:

    thats something Maioush… Living in the US taught me to be somewhat adventurous (my parents – shar2i style, are so against it) But to me, I have to have a winwin deal. I take some chance but I know that it cant hurt me if it doesnt work. This way it could always be a positive experience but to just give yourself to the tides is amazingly… strong!

  5. Maioush says:

    KL:
    that’s the fun part, life is so boring without risks 🙂

    Batoul:
    exactly, although i still feel scared when it comes to change, but i don’t mind it at all, as long as it won’t harm you, there is nothing wrong with it 🙂

  6. mr.anonymous says:

    yes…to get the good out of this life..always be a blade runner.

  7. wonders says:

    i never plan anything 🙂 i just go with the flow.. of course when i make a big decision i have a way out if things fall apart. Hamdullah i am doing well so far.
    of course coming to Dubai alone was the biggest thing i did, and things are well.

    Nice post 😉

  8. kinziblogs says:

    Yea, Mai, I love that!!! Well chosen risks make life worth living.

    When I was 26, I decided to ditch my comfy career in real estate development (I worked for two that developed Laguna Hills) and move to Europe to teach English to refugees. Never looked back, except to cringe at the thought of who I would have been w/o taking that risk.

  9. Qabbani says:

    Welcome to my life,

    i do put plans most of time , just to give my self time table to achieve things

    no matter the way , i do care about the time, and the summery at end ,

Leave a Reply

