Maioush

Dance like no one is watching, Blog like no one is reading

Father’s Unspoken Love

My Dad is not an emotional guy. We can’t seem to actually get out the words “I love you”. Over the years at different times I have wanted to be one of those families that were free with their emotions. As I get older however, I realize that though we may not speak those words we show them in countless ways.

I was 18 when I had my first fall down, my dad had known this but let me ride with it, knowing I would rebel any way, I know that the family vacation they planned right when I had that fall down wasn’t a coincidence. We didn’t speak about my pain but I felt safe and was able to bounce back from the experience by the time the vacation was over.

When I finished my education in Jordan and moved to USA after my whole family moved before me, my dad was there for me again, he cosigned for my first car. Some would think this isn’t a big deal. It’s just a car, but I think he knew it was a new start for me. A symbol of getting on with my life.

I have learned over the years that love is sometimes unspoken. Love’s actions can speak louder than words. Unconditional love is often simple and unassuming. When you think about the men in your life, don’t think about the words they have spoken, but remember the love they have shown you in what they do and who they are.

Filed under: Thoughts

4 Responses

  1. nido says:

    Very nice! as If you were talking about my father! after all I think most Arab men show their love by actions, more than by words!

  2. Menna says:

    mai i really started to believe that specially this month, even if he doesn’t show that much care, but there is a deep feelings inside them, specially men they don’t speak that much, but us, girls, uffff our problem is sometimes we are so romantic which doesn’t work right now since the responsibilities are getting bigger and bigger so sibi el ragel b7alo and mind ur own business wshofilk 7aga tsh3’lk esm3i kalami wshtry dma3’k

  3. Red Rose says:

    My family also is close to that Mai, saying love words or kissing ..etc, specially when it comes to Fathers, it’s not easy in some cases to show their emotions clearly maybe because they think this contardicts with the typical image for strict Dads in society..but as u said without uttering too much words we can feel the appreciation, love,kindness and precious caring.

  4. Maioush says:

    nido: yeah u r right, most arab men do that, and i like it some how, it means alot more to me to see an action instead of talking. thank u for stoping by dear.
    Menna: LOOOOOOL, ur comment started out fine but as usual u can’t say any thing with out making fun of it (allah y3eeni 3aleaki) LOOOOOOOOOL J/k waleh .. 😉
    Red Rose: yeah, my dad has been like that forever, and i’m not complaining, i like it when he does something to show how much he loves us and how much he cares about us..

Leave a Reply

